NAABA AGM 2023 Media Release

(Fort McMurray – Wood Buffalo, AB) Northeastern Alberta Aboriginal Business Association (NAABA) announced the appointment of 1 new Board member following their Annual General Meeting and Voting on October 10th. During this meeting, their 2022/23 Annual Report was discussed, and it is available here: NAABA 2022/23 Annual Report.

The newly appointed Board member is:

• Angela Maxson (Creekline)

“We are very excited to welcome Angela to the organization. The governance roles our Directors hold are key in making meaningful change for Indigenous business in Northern Alberta. We look forward to leveraging Angela’s expertise to support our strategic activities and strengthen our collective voice,” says outgoing President and Board Chair, Jaime Harpe “I would also like to extend gratitude to the outgoing Board members for their many valued contributions to furthering organizational goals.”

Board members and Advisors who have completed their terms include:

• President, Jaime Harpe (TJ’s Group)

• Director, Lloyd Antoine (A.P.E. Maintenance Ltd.)

• Advisory Board Member, Mitch Mercredi

As NAABA celebrates its 30th year in operation, the newly elected Board members will join the existing Board cohort as they continue their terms of service:

• Director, Anothony Punko (Emergency Decon Solutions)

• Director, Robyn Villebrun (Medika North)

• Director, Leona Lepine (Peyak Mekwan Maintenance)

• Treasurer, Travis Drew (Wright Quality Services)

• 1st Vice President, Mike Deranger (Derantech)

After the voting was complete, NAABA hosted its AGM Celebration, presented by Bouchier two days later on October 12th at Shell Place. This event welcomed 450 attendees including NAABA entrepreneurs, business professionals, and Indigenous leaders in Fort McMurray – Wood Buffalo. Outgoing, new, and continuing Board members were honored. Keynote speaker Jody Wilson-Raybould captivated the audience and there were cultural performances by Kehewin Native Dance Theatre. NAABA expresses deep appreciation for its long list of event sponsors.